PremiumSophie S. A Level Music tutor, GCSE Music tutor, Mentoring -Oxbridge ...

Sophie S.

Currently unavailable: for regular students

Degree: Music (Bachelors) - Oxford, St Catherine's College University

Contact Sophie
Send a message

All contact details will be kept confidential.

To give you a few options, we can ask three similar tutors to get in touch. More info.

Contact Sophie

About me

Subjects: Music, Maths, French (GCSE), Music (A Level), Oxbridge entrance mentoring, Personal Statement mentoring

About Me

As a music student at the University of Oxford, I am a very dedicated and enthusiastic person, both as a pupil and as a tutor. I hope that my passion for my subjects (music, French and maths) will influence my students and encourage them to be confident and enjoy learning. I have tutored maths at GCSE level before, mentored for personal statement writing, and taugh the flute and music theory at a high level, so I have valuable experience. 

Tutorials

For me, the most important thing is that the student feels comfortable in a tutorial, so that they can ask whatever question they need to, and I can do my very best to answer it. With all subjects, it will be necessary to focus on a syllabus to ensure the student is prepared for an exam. Once the material has been taught and reviewed, it is useful to try out some past papers. For me, especially in subjects such as maths, the most useful revision tool is completing past papers. I would ask students to bring me past papers they are working on with any problems or queries. Music and French rely a little more on memorising facts and revising perhaps using methods such as flash cards, but it is still beneficial to consult past papers.

It would be very worthwhile if, in advance of a tutorial, I have the information about which exam board the student is using, and if possible, what specifically they would like help with. This allows me to prepare more specifically, and be ready for any questions!

Mentoring

Having been through the Oxbridge application system myself not too long ago, I am very happy to answer any questions about the process. This may be for advice with a personal statement, interview preparation, or just questions about university life in general. Although I study music, I am also willing to review personal statements for any subject, from a grammatical and ‘Oxbridge’ perspective.

What happens next?

Please send any questions or enquiries through the ‘Webmail’ facility or book a ‘Meet the Tutor’ session. I look forward to meeting you! 

Availability: During university vacations, I am availably to tutor most afternoons and evenings (1pm-9:30pm). In term time, this is more restricted to 4pm-9:30pm on weekdays (except Wednesdays) and all day at weekends.

Subjects offered

SubjectLevelMy prices
Music A Level £24 /hr
French GCSE £22 /hr
Maths GCSE £22 /hr
Music GCSE £22 /hr
-Oxbridge Preparation- Mentoring £24 /hr
-Personal Statements- Mentoring £24 /hr

Qualifications

QualificationLevelGrade
MusicA-LevelA
MathematicsA-LevelA
FrenchA-LevelA
Disclosure and Barring Service

CRB/DBS Standard

No

CRB/DBS Enhanced

No

Currently unavailable: for regular students

Ratings and reviews

4.9from 37 customer reviews

Robert (Parent) March 4 2015

Sophie has enabled Shona to gain a lot of knowledge on music theory.

Robert (Student) January 29 2015

Sophie's tutorials are always enjoyable, helpful and informative.

Robert (Student) February 19 2015

An informative lesson.

Robert (Student) February 26 2015

I enjoyed the tutorial and I am learning a lot.
See all reviews
Send a message

All contact details will be kept confidential.

To give you a few options, we can ask three similar tutors to get in touch. More info.

Contact Sophie

Still comparing tutors?

How do we connect with a tutor?

Where are they based?

How much does tuition cost?

How do tutorials work?

Cookies:

We use cookies to improve our service. By continuing to use this website, we'll assume that you're OK with this. Dismiss

mtw:mercury1:status:ok