Will N. A Level Maths tutor, GCSE Maths tutor

Will N.

Currently unavailable: for regular students

Degree: Maths (Masters) - Durham University

MyTutor guarantee

Contact Will
Send a message

All contact details will be kept confidential.

To give you a few options, we can ask three similar tutors to get in touch. More info.

Contact Will

About me

About me:

Friendly third-year maths student at Durham University, still in touch with the maths A-level and GCSE syllabus. ​Currently on track to achieve a first in my 4 year Master's Degree. Experience in tutoring for the last 2 years, ongoing mentoring within schools for the last 4 years and coaching basketball for the past 6 years. I'm a relaxed and enthusiastic person and have had highly positive feedback in the past. I like a challenge and do not quit easily.

Experience:

I've been coaching basketball since I was 14 and coached children of ages 6 and 7 to children aged 14 and 15 so I feel I have a good understanding of the different challenges faces when teaching people of different ages. Through mentoring I've had experience in classes in years 7 and 9 at schools both where I live and at Durham and I also did some peer mentoring in Maths with some of my A-level class. When tutoring at home, I've done Maths GCSE and A-level as well as Physics and Chemistry A-level which I believe shows how I am able to adapt to different people's needs.

Also, during my A-levels I worked part time as an after school care-worker working with children from the ages of 5 and 6 to the ages of 11. Again this demonstrates how I've had vast experience working with children and understanding their needs.

Interests and hobbies: 

I am currently president of my University college basketball team after being captain last year. This role incorporated a lot of the coaching strategies that I've used over the years in my own experience which I feel has benefited me and improved the way I'm able to deliver to others, I feel this is especially apt now in the field of tutoring.

I regularly participate in yoga which relieves me of stress and helps me maintain a calm and stress free environment when I am giving a tutoring service as I try and make the learning process as painful as possible. I understanding the harmful impact stress can have on a student and am all for avoiding it as much as possible.

I am hugely into fitness and nutrition and feel this is part of the reason as to why I am able to incorporate enthusiasm whilst tutoring. Within my hectic lifestyle I always try and make time to diet well and keep up my fitness and I feel this gives others motivation to keep on top of priorities which are important to them when times get tough, such as studying.

My tutoring style:

I'm a very flexible teacher and usually change my approach dependent on who I'm running a session with. But one of the main basis that I like to include in my sessions is a want to learn; I like to help people gain a thirst from knowledge and will strive to everything I can to make that happen.

What next:

If I sound like the kind of tutor for you then please do not hesitate to get in contact with me and find out a bit more.

Subjects offered

SubjectLevelMy prices
Further Mathematics A Level £20 /hr
Maths A Level £20 /hr
Chemistry GCSE £18 /hr
Further Mathematics GCSE £18 /hr
Maths GCSE £18 /hr
Physics GCSE £18 /hr

Qualifications

QualificationLevelGrade
MathsA-LevelA*
Further maths A-LevelA*
PhysicsA-LevelA*
ChemistryA-LevelA*
Disclosure and Barring Service

CRB/DBS Standard

16/07/2016

CRB/DBS Enhanced

No

Currently unavailable: for regular students

General Availability

Weeks availability
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
Weeks availability
Before 12pm12pm - 5pmAfter 5pm
MONDAYMONDAY
TUESDAYTUESDAY
WEDNESDAYWEDNESDAY
THURSDAYTHURSDAY
FRIDAYFRIDAY
SATURDAYSATURDAY
SUNDAYSUNDAY

Please get in touch for more detailed availability

Send a message

All contact details will be kept confidential.

To give you a few options, we can ask three similar tutors to get in touch. More info.

Contact Will

Still comparing tutors?

How do we connect with a tutor?

Where are they based?

How much does tuition cost?

How do tutorials work?

Cookies:

We use cookies to improve our service. By continuing to use this website, we'll assume that you're OK with this. Dismiss

mtw:mercury1:status:ok