PremiumCatherine E. Mentoring -Oxbridge Preparation- tutor, A Level German t...

Catherine E.

Currently unavailable: until 01/12/2015

Degree: Modern Languages (German and Italian) (Bachelors) - Oxford, Lincoln College University

Contact Catherine
Send a message

All contact details will be kept confidential.

To give you a few options, we can ask three similar tutors to get in touch. More info.

Contact Catherine

About me

Hi, I'm Catherine. I recently graduated from Oxford University with a 2.1 in German & Italian. I also have an A* at French A Level and have lived in Germany, France and Italy. The subjects I offer tutoring in are: German, Italian and French at GCSE and A Level, MLAT and Oxbridge Preparation.

I believe anyone can learn a language, but not everyone learns in the same way, which is why individual sessions tailored to the student's needs and interests are the best and quickest way to find out what clicks and then progress from there.

My degree allowed me to get to grips with each of the languages I study, having covered a range of modules from the evolution of Latin to Italian, Medieval German, plenty of literature and the culture and politics of Germany and Italy. I've also spent several months living and working in each country, so I can help you speak the language as it's actually spoken

So whether you need to find a method of learning grammar that's fun and memorable, gain confidence in reading or translation, or practise spoken language and pronunciation, I can help you. We'll come up with a list of goals together, and steps to start working towards them. 

If you're hoping to study languages at university, I'm also extremely happy to help with personal statements, interview practice and language aptitude tests (none of which are as scary as they seem!). I aim to deliver sessions which are enjoyable and relaxed, but focused, and most of all I want to share my love of language-learning.

I have experience of tutoring languages from total beginners up to A Level, and have also taught English as a foreign language to children and adults. Having sat my A Levels just a few years ago, and tutored for several years, I have a good knowledge of the topics that come up across the major UK exam boards, what examiners are looking for and how to make sure you're ticking all the right boxes.

I am available most weekdays from 3pm GMT and any time at weekends. If you want to hear more about what I can offer you, please feel free to book a session to meet me, or just send me a message!

Subjects offered

SubjectLevelMy prices
French A Level £24 /hr
German A Level £24 /hr
Italian A Level £24 /hr
French GCSE £22 /hr
German GCSE £22 /hr
Italian GCSE £22 /hr
German 13 Plus £22 /hr
-Oxbridge Preparation- Mentoring £24 /hr
-Personal Statements- Mentoring £24 /hr
.MLAT (Modern Languages) Uni Admissions Test £26 /hr


English LiteratureA-LevelA*
Disclosure and Barring Service

CRB/DBS Standard


CRB/DBS Enhanced


Currently unavailable: until


Ratings and reviews

4.8from 17 customer reviews

Robert (Student) November 14 2014

Catherine has helped me to understand grammar in German and writing. Thanks Catherine!!!

Robert (Student) November 10 2014

Thank you for a very good lesson.

Robert (Parent) November 10 2014

Adele is gaining a lot from your lessons.

Robert (Student) November 3 2014

thank you for a good lesson
See all reviews
Send a message

All contact details will be kept confidential.

To give you a few options, we can ask three similar tutors to get in touch. More info.

Contact Catherine

Still comparing tutors?

How do we connect with a tutor?

Where are they based?

How much does tuition cost?

How do tutorials work?


We use cookies to improve our service. By continuing to use this website, we'll assume that you're OK with this. Dismiss