Which cells are involved with innate and adaptive immunity?

  • Google+ icon
  • LinkedIn icon

Immune cells are split into two main categories:

1. Myeloid lineage (mostly innate function):

 -Monocytes, Macrophages, Neutrophils, Eosinophils, Basophils, Mast cells

 Dendritic cells can be derived from both myeloid and lymphoid lineage, however usually classed under myeloid.

2. Lymphoid lineage (mostly adaptive function):

 -B-cells, T-cells (Cytotoxic, helper, and regulatory)

 -Natural Killer cells are lymphoid cells, however are highly involved in innate immune responses.


Note: Cells from both myeloid and lymphoid lineages can both directly and indirectly interact with one another to communicate and set up an immune response.

Other immune factors including cytokines, complement and immunoglobulins also assist with the development of immunity. These are not cells, they are (most often) highly specific proteins secreted by different immune and non-immune cell types. 

Ashley D. GCSE Biology tutor, GCSE Human Biology tutor, A Level Human...

About the author

is an online A Level Human Biology tutor with MyTutor studying at Exeter University

Still stuck? Get one-to-one help from a personally interviewed subject specialist.

95% of our customers rate us

Browse tutors

We use cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing to use this website, we'll assume that you're OK with this. Dismiss