Describe the process of meiosis


The first stage of meiosis is Prophase 1, where the homologous chromosomes pair up and spindle microtubules grow from each pole to the equator around the nucleus. The next stage is Metaphase 1, the nucleus membrane has now been broken down and the pair of chromosomes now line up on the equator where spindle microtubules attach to different chromosomes in each pair, ensuring that one is pulled to one and the other chromosome pulled to the other pole. The next stage is Anaphase 2, where the chromosomes are separated and pulled to different poles but each chromosome still consists of two chromatids. The next stage is Telophase 1, where the cell membrane starts to be pulled inwards to divide the cell. This is turn creates two identical cells.

However, in meiosis, four cells so there needs to be another cycle of division. The stages are repeated but in this cycle, the chromatids do not duplicate so the nucleus of the four new cells has half as many chromosomes as the parent cell. These cells are used for reproduction cells (sperm and egg cells) 

Looking for more help? Search our library of answers.👇

Need help with Biology?
Boost your grades with stress-free tuition that fits your schedule.
Conner S.

About the author

Conner S. is an online Biology tutor with MyTutor studying at University College London University