Outline the process of mitosis

Meiosis is the process of cell division that produces two identical diploid cells, and consists of four stages.

The first stage is called prophase, where the chromosomes condense and cross over to form bivalents. The nuclear envelope also starts to break down and the spindle fibres start to form. The second stage is called metaphase, where the bivalents are lined up by the spindle fibres along the equator. The third stage is called anaphase, where the spindle fibres contract, pulling sister chromatids to opposite ends of the cell away from the equator. The final stage is called telophase, where the spindle fibre breaks down, and nuclear envelopes form around each set of DNA, ready for the cell to be split in two during cytokinesis

Answered by Anastasia R. Biology tutor


See similar Biology A Level tutors
Illustration of a video tutorial

Need help with Biology?

One to one online tuition can be a great way to brush up on your Biology knowledge.

Have a Free Meeting with one of our hand picked tutors from the UK’s top universities

Find a tutor

Related Biology A Level answers

All answers ▸

How does phagocytosis work?

What is saltatory conduction?

Describe the process of Oxidative Phosphorylation in the light dependent stage of photosynthesis

Describe the relationship between Arbuscular Myccorhyzal fungi and plants

We're here to help

contact us iconContact usWhatsapp logoMessage us on Whatsapptelephone icon+44 (0) 203 773 6020
Facebook logoInstagram logoLinkedIn logo

© MyTutorWeb Ltd 2013–2022

Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy