What are the different protein structures?

  • Google+ icon
  • LinkedIn icon

There are 4 levels you use to describe protein structure. 

Primary Structure - This is the simplest structure of a protein. It is essentially the sequence of amino acids that form a protein.  

Secondary Structure - In longer protein chains, parts are organised into two structures known as alpha-helices, or beta-pleated sheets. These structures are held together by hydrogen bonds. Alpha-helices are cylindrical whereas beta-pleated sheets tend to be flat or planar. 

Tertiary Structure - This is the 3D structure the protein chain folds itself into. A protein chain is organised into it's tertiary structure through various interactions. These include - ionic interactions (between -COOH and -NH2 groups), hydrogen bonds, van der Waals forces/hydrophobic interactions or disulphide bridges (between two cysetine residues). 

Quarternary structure - this is the arrangement of one or more protein molecules (polypeptide chains) into a multi-protein complex. An example includes haemoglobin, which is made of 4 polypeptide chains. 

Nandesh P. Mentoring -Medical School Preparation- tutor, Mentoring -P...

About the author

is an online A Level Biology tutor with MyTutor studying at Edinburgh University

Still stuck? Get one-to-one help from a personally interviewed subject specialist.

95% of our customers rate us

Browse tutors

We use cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing to use this website, we'll assume that you're OK with this. Dismiss